The majority voted against a motion that was introduced in the name of ACT Senator Katy Gallagher (Labor), which means that it failed.

Motion text

That the order of 30 March 2023 relating to the hours of meeting and routine of business for Budget week be varied to read as follows—

(1A) On Wednesday, 10 May 2023:

(a) the routine of business from 6 pm be consideration of the Housing Australia Future Fund Bill 2023 and related bills only and, unless determined earlier, the question on the second reading be put immediately;

(b) divisions may take place after 6.30 pm for the purposes of the bills only;

(c) if consideration of the bills is concluded before 8 pm, the Senate shall return to its routine of business and adjourn at 8 pm; and

(d) if consideration of the bills is not concluded before 8 pm, the Senate adjourn without debate at 10 pm, after consideration of the bills has concluded, or on the motion of a minister (whichever is earlier).

(2) On Thursday, 11 May 2023:

(a) the hours of meeting be 9 am to adjournment;

(b) if consideration of the following bills has not concluded by 1 pm, the questions on all remaining stages be put without debate:

Veterans' Affairs Legislation Amendment (Miscellaneous Measures) Bill 2023

National Vocational Education and Training Regulator (Data Streamlining) Amendment Bill 2023

Housing Australia Future Fund Bill 2023

National Housing Supply and Affordability Council Bill 2023 Treasury Laws Amendment (Housing Measures No. 1) Bill 2023;

(c) paragraph (b) operate as a limitation of debate under standing order 142;

(d) the sitting of the Senate be suspended from 5.30 pm till the ringing of the bells (at approximately 8 pm); and

(e) on resumption, the routine of business be:

(i) Budget statement and documents-party leaders and independent senators to make responses to the statement and documents for not more than 30 minutes each,

(ii) adjournment proposed, and

(iii) adjournment.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (87% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (87% turnout) 23 Yes – 42 No