The majority voted against a motion:

That the following matter be referred to the Finance and Public Administration References Committee for inquiry and report by the first sitting Thursday in November 2023:

The role, governance and accountability of key Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representative organisations, including land councils and native title bodies such as prescribed bodies corporate, with particular reference to:

(a) administrative, operational and governance arrangements to ensure accountability, risk mitigation, and transparency for present and future Traditional Owners, to protect their interests and deliver positive economic and social outcomes;

(b) the quality and effectiveness of consultation and engagement with Traditional Owners to ascertain their views, and opportunities for the views of Traditional Owners to be reflected in decisions of the organisations;

(c) how these organisations undertake their responsibilities to:

(i) negotiate on behalf of Traditional Owners,

(ii) manage and maintain an accurate register of members,

(iii) conciliate disputes, and

(iv) appropriately manage dissenting views;

(d) arrangements for commercial and lands trust activities;

(e) the extent to which administrative, operational and governance arrangements align with the principles contained in the United Nations Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples with specific reference to the principle of free, prior and informed consent and other relevant principles and conventions;

(f) the extent to which these organisations are contributing to justice for First Nations people; and

(g) any other related matters.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Lidia Thorpe voted Yes against the majority of the Australian Greens.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (109% turnout) 1 Yes 11 No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Linda White Victoria No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (79% turnout) 29 Yes – 30 No