The majority voted against amendments to government amendment (2) on sheet UC140, introduced by ACT Senator David Pocock (Independent).

What did this amendment do?

Senator Pocock explained that:

This amendment seeks to ensure that in performing its functions the independent board of the National Reconstruction Fund Corporation must have regard to Australia's international obligations and commitments. This amendment simply seeks to make explicit that the board will consider our international commitments under the Convention on Biological Diversity and the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework and any subsequent global biodiversity frameworks in which Australia is a party.

Shamefully, biodiversity loss is something that Australia has been grappling with for decades. We go to conventions, we sign up to non-binding agreements, then we come back home and we don't take the steps necessary to actually look after our incredible biodiversity. As a megadiverse country, this is something that we should be putting in every new body that we set up. There should be a regard to Australia's biodiversity and the impacts that any activities will have. We've got a shameful record. We have a government that is committed to no new extinctions. I believe it's a commitment that is welcomed by Australians, but that's going to take real work from all of us to actually deliver on that.

Amendment text

(1) Amendment (2), after paragraph 17(3A)(c), insert:

(ca) Australia's international obligations and commitments under the following:

(i) the Convention on Biological Diversity, done at Rio de Janeiro on 5 June 1992, as in force for Australia from time to time;

(ii) the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework, adopted by the Conference of the Parties to that Convention at Montreal on 19 December 2022, as amended from time to time;

(iii) any subsequent global biodiversity framework to which Australia is a party, as amended from time to time; and

(2) Amendment (2), at the end of subclause 17(3A), add:

Note 1: The Convention on Biological Diversity is in Australian Treaty Series 1993 No. 32 ([1993] ATS 32) and could in 2023 be viewed in the Australian Treaties Library on the AustLII website (

Note 2: The Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Frameworkcould in 2023 be viewed on the website of the Convention on Biological Diversity (

Government amendment (2)

(2) Clause 17, page 15 (after line 16), after subclause (3), insert:

(3A) In performing its functions, the Board must have regard to:

(a) the desirability of transforming Australia’s industry and economy by:

(i) growing or improving Australia’s industrial capability; or

(ii) improving Australian industry’s ability to pursue value-adding opportunities; or

(iii) supporting a long-term improvement in Australia’s economic diversity; and

(b) the desirability of attracting private sector finance or investments into the priority areas of the Australian economy; and

(c) Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets and the desirability of supporting decarbonisation; and

(d) the desirability of creating secure jobs and a skilled and adaptable workforce ; and

(e) the desirability of enhancing Australia’s resilience against supply chain vulnerabilities; and

(f) the desirability of encouraging the commercialisation of Australian innovation and technology.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (48% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (25% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (68% turnout) 14 Yes – 37 No