The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Pauline Hanson (One Nation), which means it failed.

Motion text

That, in the opinion of the Senate, the following is a matter of urgency:

The need for an inquiry into the rising number of children suffering from gender dysphoria in Australia and the increasing number of children being treated for gender dysphoria at gender clinics, to examine the causes and possible remedies for this trend and to ensure that children and their families receive appropriate support and care.


NSW Senator Andrew Bragg (Liberal) rebelled and crossed the floor to vote "No" in this division, against the rest of the Liberal Party, who voted "Yes".

Why are politicians so focused on trans people?

Trans people make up a tiny proportion of the population and tend to be highly vulnerable for many intersecting reasons (socio-economic position, mental health issues, social isolation, etc). This makes them an easy target.

Today, in countries like the USA and elsewhere, anti-trans sentiment is acting as a 'gateway issue' for those who want to target bodily autonomy, including getting rid of a cis woman's right to abortion and everyone's right to contraception. Just take a look at our own bodily autonomy policy and compare it with our transgender rights policy.

For those who are genuine in their interest about transgender youth, there are many good resources out there, such as this article from The Conversation about the rising profile of transgender children. Trans Health Australia also provides links to many relevant peer-reviewed publications.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Andrew Bragg voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Linda White Victoria No
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (0% turnout) Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (39% turnout) 8 Yes 1 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (67% turnout) 16 Yes – 34 No