The majority voted against a second reading amendment moved by ACT Senator David Pocock (Independent), which means it failed. It would have amended the wording of the usual second reading motion, which is "that the bill be read a second time" (known as agreeing with the main idea of the bill).

Amendment text

At the end of the motion, add "and that the order of the Senate of 25 March 1999, relating to an order for the production of periodic reports by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission on private health insurance, be varied as follows:

(1) There be laid on the table as soon as practicable after the end of each period of 12 months ending on or after 30 June 2023, a report by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission containing an assessment of any anticompetitive or other practices by health funds or providers which reduce the extent of health cover for consumers and increase their out-of-pocket medical and other expenses.

(2) Each report must also include:

(a) an assessment of the savings on prostheses that are being achieved through the operation of the Memorandum of Understanding for the policy parameters of the Prostheses List Reforms between the Minister for Health and Aged Care and the Medical Technology Association of Australia, signed on 14 March 2022; and

(b) an assessment of the extent to which these savings are being passed onto consumers by private health insurers.".

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (26% turnout) 0 Yes 6 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Marise Payne NSW No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (59% turnout) 14 Yes – 30 No