The majority voted against a motion to keep items 584 and 667 of schedule 1 unchanged (i.e., "stand as printed"), which means those items will be removed from the bill. This vote took place in response to Government amendments (35) and (63), which moved to opposed those items.

Text of items 584 and 667

584 Subsection 443(3A)

Repeal the subsection, substitute:

(3A) For the purposes of paragraph (3)(c), the FWC:

(a) subject to paragraph (b), must specify a date that will enable the protected action ballot to be conducted as expeditiously as practicable; and

(b) must not specify a date that is earlier than 14 days after the day the order is made.

667 Subsection 7(8) (after table item 12)


12A - Malignant mesothelioma - 15 years

Text of Government amendment

(35) Schedule 1, item 584, page 195 (lines 1 to 8), to be opposed .

[industrial action—period for protected action ballot]

(63) Schedule 1, item 667, page 266 (lines 12 to 15), to be opposed .


Explanation of amendment

According to the supplementary explanatory memorandum:

This amendment [no. (35)] would remove item 584 from the Bill to restore the FWC’s discretion to determine the timetable for the conduct of protected action ballots. The requirement that the FWC specifies a date for the close of the ballot which will enable the ballot to be conducted as expeditiously as practicable remains in subsection 443(3A).

This [amendment no. 63] would remove item 667 from the Bill so that malignant mesothelioma can instead be prescribed by regulations for the purposes of subsection 7(8) of the SRC Act.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Linda White Victoria No
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (0% turnout) Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (88% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (87% turnout) 31 Yes – 35 No