The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Pauline Hanson (One Nation), which means it failed.

Does rapid onset of gender dysphoria exist?

Rapid onset of gender dysphoria in young people does not have clinical support. Despite the lack of evidence, many anti-trans groups continue to argue that it exists and encourage politicians like Senator Hanson to do likewise, as she is in this motion.

On how we've classified this motion

Because this motion cites a harmful and unsupported theory as if it were fact, we are treating this motion as an anti-trans motion and have attached it to the relevant policies.


Four Liberal Party senators crossed the floor to vote "No" against the rest of the Liberal party, who voted "Yes". They were: South Australian Senator Simon Birmingham, NSW Senator Andrew Bragg, NSW Senator Marise Payne and West Australian Senator Dean Smith.

Motion text

That the following matter be referred to the Community Affairs References Committee for inquiry and report by the first sitting day in March 2023:

The use of puberty blockers in Australia, with particular reference to:

(a) the causes of the increase in rapid onset of gender dysphoria in children, including friendship groups, peer contagion, gender clinic staff and social media;

(b) the experiences of parents of young people who have been prescribed puberty blockers, including their experience with the medical system;

(c) the experiences of young people who have been prescribed puberty blockers, including their experience with the medical system;

(d) the medical oversight of general practitioners prescribing puberty blockers;

(e) the results of longitudinal studies of young people prescribed puberty blockers;

(f) whether the decision of the England and Wales High Court in Bell v Tavistock [2020] EWHC 3274, which held that it was highly unlikely that a child under the age of 16 could give consent to being prescribed puberty blockers, should apply in Australia;

(g) whether puberty blockers are reversible as claimed;

(h) whether affirming gender dysphoria as a primary condition is always helpful in the absence of investigating prior trauma, mental illness and other conditions; and

(i) any other related matters.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There were 4 rebellions in this division.

  • Simon Birmingham voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Andrew Bragg voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Marise Payne voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Dean Smith voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (83% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (92% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (0% turnout) Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (71% turnout) 13 Yes 4 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Marise Payne NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (79% turnout) 21 Yes – 39 No