The majority voted against amendments introduced by NSW Senator David Shoebridge (Greens), which means they failed.

What do these amendments do?

Senator Shoebridge explained that:

As I indicated in my second reading contribution, these amendments seek to amend the bill to provide for an LGBTIQA+ human rights commissioner. The Greens have been approached by a variety of organisations and community groups, from across the broader law reform community but especially from the LGBTIQA+ community, who have been asking for this for decades. We've been approached by Just.Equal Australia, who raised the very real issue that the reform in the bill just does not go far enough, and that's why we're moving for the well-overdue appointment of a standalone LGBTIQA+ human rights commissioner.

In response, Queensland Senator Anthony Chisholm (Labor) explained that:

We certainly understand the strong sentiment that has been expressed by members of the community over a long period of time now about a dedicated LGBTIQA+ commissioner, but we are of the view, as I mentioned in summing up, that this bill is not the vehicle to create such a position. The government recognises that it's important to consider how the commission can best operate to promote and protect the human rights of all members of the Australian community, including LGBTIQA+ people.

There is no doubt that there will be further discussion on this proposal, as well as other opportunities to strengthen the work of the commission in the future, but the critical issue that this bill will address is restoring the international standing of our commission by urgently addressing the specific issues around transparent and merit based appointments raised by the global alliance to support the commission's reaccreditation. That is what the focus of this bill is today. As I mentioned before, it is not possible to make such changes as this and for it to go back to the House of Representatives.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (21% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (58% turnout) 13 Yes – 31 No