The majority voted in favour of a motion:

That the Industry Research and Development (Underwriting New Generation Investments Program) Instrument 2021, made under the Industry Research and Development Act 1986, be disallowed.

In other words, they voted in favour of stopping the Instrument from having legal force.

What did this instrument do?

According to the explanatory memorandum:

The purpose of the Industry Research and Development (Underwriting New Generation Investments Program) Instrument 2021 (the Legislative Instrument) is to prescribe the Underwriting New Generation Investments Program (the Program). The purpose of the Program is, by supporting new investments in dispatchable electricity generation projects, to:

(a) reduce wholesale electricity prices by increasing competition and supply; and

(b) assist commercial and industrial customers and smaller retailers to access affordable energy supply arrangements; and

(c) improve the reliability of the system by increasing the level of firm capacity.


The Program will focus on 10 of the 12 projects shortlisted in March 2019 as a result of the registration of interest process conducted during December 2018 and January 2019. Sixty-six submissions were received as part of that process and were assessed against the eligibility criteria proposed in the Registrations of Interest Guidance Document. Twelve projects were shortlisted as a result of that process, including 6 renewable pumped hydro projects, 5 gas projects and 1 coal upgrade project. The coal upgrade project is no longer being considered for support. The proponent of one renewable pumped hydro project has withdrawn the project from consideration.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (0% turnout) Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (83% turnout) 34 Yes – 29 No