The majority voted against a motion introduced by WA Senator Michaelia Cash (Liberal), which means it failed. It was a motion to disallow (meaning, stopping it from being law) the Code for the Tendering and Performance of Building Work Amendment Instrument 2022. This means the Instrument will remain in force.

Motion text

That the Export Control (Animals) Amendment (Northern Hemisphere Summer Prohibition) Rules 2022, made under the Export Control Act 2020, be disallowed [F2022L00537].

What does this Instrument do?

According to the explanatory memorandum:

Until the BCIIP Act [i.e., the Building and Construction Industry (Improving Productivity) Act 2016] is repealed, it is not possible to repeal the Building Code 2016. As an interim measure, the Code for the Tendering and Performance of Building Work Amendment Instrument 2022 (the Amendment Instrument) amends and streamlines the Building Code 2016 to remove the majority of the requirements it currently imposes, leaving only those that section 34 of the BCIIP Act requires and certain transitional measures. It also removes the ABC Commissioner’s role under the Building Code 2016 in relation to granting exemptions and recommending exclusion sanctions. This is a swift and measured step towards the Government’s election commitment of repealing the Building Code 2016 and abolishing the ABCC, to the extent possible under the BCIIP Act until that Act is repealed. Further, removing most of the obligations on building contractors and building industry participants will remove unnecessary regulation.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (86% turnout) 31 Yes – 34 No