The majority voted against an amendment introduced by Queensland Senator Larissa Waters (Greens), which means it failed. This means the original motion will remain unchanged.

Amendment text

That the motion to appoint senators to committees be amended as follows:

At the end of the motion add:

, except in relation to the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security, and that in relation to that committee:

(a) the nominations advised by the Leader of the Government in the Senate not be approved, as the Leader of the Government has not consulted the leaders of each recognised, non-government, political party in the Senate about the membership of the committee (as required by subsection 14(4) of Schedule 1 of the Intelligence Services Act 2001); and

(b) nominations for membership of the committee not be further considered until the Senate is notified by the Leader of the Government that:

i. this consultation has occurred, and

ii. as required by subsection 14(5) of Schedule 1 of the Act, due regard has been had to the desirability of ensuring that the composition of the committee reflects the representation of recognised political parties in the Parliament.

Original motion text

That senators be appointed to committees as follows:

Intelligence and Security—Joint Statutory Committee—

Appointed—Senators Birmingham, Ciccone, Paterson, Marielle Smith and Walsh, pursuant to the Intelligence Services Act 2001

Northern Australia—Joint Select Committee—

Appointed—Senators Dodson and Green

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (0% turnout) Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (63% turnout) 13 Yes – 35 No