The majority voted against a motion introduced by South Australian Senator Alex Antic (Liberal), which means it failed.


South Australian Senator Barbara Pocock (Greens) and Victorian Senator Jess Walsh (Labor) both crossed the floor to vote "Yes" against the rest of their parties.

The Jacqui Lambie Network was split, with Tasmanian Senator Jacqui Lambie voting "Yes" and Tasmanian Senator Tammy Tyrrell voting "No."

Motion text

That the following proposed amendment to the resolutions relating to senators' interests be referred to the Standing Committee of Senators' Interests for inquiry and report:

Resolution 3 — Registrable interests

After paragraph (m), insert:

(ma) any association or involvement with domestic or international political, activist or lobbying organisations, non-government organisations or other bodies, international societies, charitable foundations, not for profit organisations, or advocacy groups in the previous ten (10) years including but not limited to:

(i) employment by such bodies;

(ii) membership of such bodies;

(iii) office(s) held with such bodies;

(iv) participation in, or receiving of, training or other educational programs or material with or from such bodies; or

(v) prizes, awards or commendations sought or received from such bodies.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There were 2 rebellions in this division.

  • Barbara Pocock voted Yes against the majority of the Australian Greens.
  • Jess Walsh voted Yes against the majority of the Australian Labor Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 1 Yes 11 No
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 1 Yes 20 No
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 1 Yes 1 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (87% turnout) 32 Yes – 34 No