The majority voted against a request for an amendment, which means the amendment failed. It was introduced by WA Senator Dorinda Cox (Greens).

Amendment request text

That the House of Representatives be requested to make the following amendment:

(1) Page 6 (after line 2), after clause 9, insert:

9A Energy Security and Regional Development Plan — Nor thern Territory

(1) No amount appropriated by this Act is to be spent in the Northern Territory region as part of the 'Energy Security and Regional Development Plan' as described in Budget Paper No. 2 2022-23 on page 133.

9B Energy and Emissions Reduction

(1) No amount appropriated by this Act is to be spent on the 'Future Gas Infrastructure Investment Framework' as part of the 'Energy and Emissions Reduction' program as described in Budget Paper No. 2 2022-2023 on page 125.

Statement pursuant to the order of the Senate of 26 June 2000

Amendment (1)

Amendment (1) is framed as a request because it is to a bill which appropriates moneys for the ordinary annual services of the government.

Statement by the Clerk of the Senate pursuant to the order of the Senate of 26 June 2000

Amendment (1)

As this is a bill appropriating moneys for the ordinary annual services of the government within the meaning of section 53 of the Constitution, any Senate amendments to the bill must be moved as requests. This is in accordance with the precedents of the Senate.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (25% turnout) 0 Yes 6 No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (66% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Greg Mirabella Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Slade Brockman WA President Absent
Totals (53% turnout) 9 Yes – 31 No