The majority voted against a motion to disallow the Industry Research and Development (Carbon Capture, Use and Storage Development Program) Instrument 2021, which means it failed. To disallow an instrument is to stop it from having anymore legal force. The motion was introduced by Queensland Senator Larissa Waters (Greens).

Motion text

That the Industry Research and Development (Carbon Capture, Use and Storage Development Program) Instrument 2021, made under the Industry Research and Development Act 1986, be disallowed [F2021L00547].

What does this instrument do?

According to its explanatory memorandum:

The purpose of the Industry Research and Development (Carbon Capture, Use and Storage Development Program) Instrument 2021 (the Legislative Instrument) is to prescribe the Carbon Capture, Use and Storage Development Program (the Program).

The funding for the Program has been secured through the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources (the Department) 2020-2021 Budget. The Program provides $50 million as part of the Australian Government’s commitment to accelerate the deployment of carbon capture, use and storage (CCUS) technologies in Australia towards commercial operations. In particular, the Program provides funding to support pilot projects and pre-commercial activities for the capture of carbon dioxide for subsequent use or storage or the use or storage of carbon dioxide.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (16% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance No
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (57% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Ben Small WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Slade Brockman WA President No
Totals (47% turnout) 8 Yes – 27 No