The majority voted against an amendment introduced by WA Senator Dorinda Cox, which means it failed.

Senator Cox explained that, "This amendment seeks to prohibit Export Finance Australia from investing in fossil fuel projects and fossil fuel based infrastructure."

Amendment text

(1) Page 7 (after line 16), at the end of the Bill, add:

Schedule 3 — Fossil fuels

Export Finance and Insurance Corporation Act 1991

1 Subsection 3(1)


fossil fuel-based infrastructure:

(a) subject to paragraph (b), includes infrastructure for:

(i) the extraction or transportation of fossil fuels; or

(ii) fossil fuel-based electricity generation; and

(b) does not include electricity transmission infrastructure.

fossil fuels includes any of the following:

(a) coal;

(b) oil and other petroleum-based products;

(c) natural gas;

(d) products, by-products and wastes from extracting or processing fossil fuels to which paragraphs (a) to (c) apply.

2 Subsection 3(1) (definition of Northern Australia economic infrastructure )

Repeal the definition, substitute:

Northern Australia economic infrastructure:

(a) subject to paragraph (b), has the same meaning as in the Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility Act 2016; and

(b) does not include fossil fuel-based infrastructure.

3 Subsection 3(1) (definition of overseas infrastructure development )

After "of infrastructure", insert "(other than fossil fuel-based infrastructure)".

4 Before section 81


80A Prohibition on assistance for fossil fuel-based infrastructure

(1) Assistance must not be provided under this Act if the assistance is for purposes relating to, or is expected to result in, the development of fossil fuel-based infrastructure.

(2) It must be a condition of any assistance provided under this Act that the assistance not be used (whether directly or indirectly) for the development of fossil fuel-based infrastructure.

(3) Assistance includes a guarantee, indemnity, loan, insurance, reinsurance, financial service, financial product, subsidy or investment.

What does this bill do?

According to the bills digest:

The purpose of the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation Amendment (Equity Investments and Other Measures) Bill 2021 (the Bill) is to give legislative effect to the Government’s decision to broaden the range of transactions that Export Finance Australia (EFA) can finance.

Specifically, the Bill will amend the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation Act 1991 (the EFIC Act) to:

  • permit EFA to make equity investments and
  • permit EFA Australia to offer standalone guarantees for overseas infrastructure transactions.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (24% turnout) 0 Yes 6 No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (71% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Slade Brockman WA President Absent
Totals (51% turnout) 8 Yes – 30 No