The majority voted against amendments introduced by WA Senator Rachel Siewert (Greens), which means they failed. The amendments would have only extended the sunset date for the declared area provisions to 7 December 2022 (as opposed to 7 September 2024) and would have required the intelligence and security committee to do a review of those provisions by 7 June 2022.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, item 1, page 3 (line 5), omit "7 September 2024", substitute "7 December 2022".

(2) Schedule 1, item 4, page 3 (lines 13 to 17), omit paragraph 29(1) (bbaa), substitute:

(bbaa) to review, by 7 June 2022, the operation, effectiveness and proportionality of sections 119.2 and 119.3 of the Criminal Code (which provide for declared areas in relation to foreign incursion and recruitment)

What does the bill do?

According to the bill homepage, the bill was introduced:

  • to extend the operation of the declared areas provisions for a further 3 years and the control order regime and the preventative detention orders (PDO) regime for a further 15 months;
  • to provide that the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security may review the operation, effectiveness and proportionality of the declared areas provisions prior to their sunset date;
  • to extend the operation of the stop, search and seizure powers for a further 15 months; and
  • to extend the reporting date for the Independent National Security Legislation Monitor’s review of continuing detention orders for high risk terrorist offenders to as soon as practicable after 7 December 2021.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (56% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (20% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Don Farrell SA No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (55% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (41% turnout) 5 Yes – 26 No