The majority voted in favour of an amendment on sheet 1352, which was introduced by South Australian Senator Rex Patrick (Independent). This means it passed.

Amendment text

(1) Page 9 (after line 17), at the end of the Bill, add:

Schedule 6 — Publication of information about COVID-19 payment recipients

Coronavirus Economic Response Package (Payments and Benefits) Act 2020

1 Section 6


annual turnover of an entity for a financial year is the total of the following that is earned in the year in the course of the entity’s business:

(a) the proceeds of sales of goods and/or services;

(b) commission income;

(c) repair and service income;

(d) rent, leasing and hiring income;

(e) government bounties and subsidies;

(f) interest, royalties and dividends;

(g) other operating income.

If the entity is a non-profit body (within the meaning of section 23-15 of the A New Tax System (Goods and Services Tax) Act 1999 ), treat the operations or activities carried out by the body as the business of the body.

jobkeeper payment means a payment under the jobkeeper scheme.

jobkeeper scheme means the scheme for the Coronavirus economic response payment known as the jobkeeper payment provided for in rules made for the purposes of subsection 7(1) in relation to the period 1 March 2020 to 28 March 2021.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (33% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Rachel Siewert WA Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (36% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (31% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Ben Small WA Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (37% turnout) 16 Yes – 12 No