The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by South Australian Senator Simon Birmingham (Liberal), which means it passed. The motion related to putting time limits on the discussion of certain bills.

Motion text

That today—

(a) the hours of meeting be 9.30 am till adjournment;

(b) the questions on all remaining stages of the following bills be put at 4.30 pm:

  • COVID-19 Disaster Payment (Funding Arrangements) Bill 2021

  • Treasury Laws Amendment (COVID-19 Economic Response) Bill 2021

  • Telecommunications Legislation Amendment (International Production Orders) Bill 2020

  • Hazardous Waste (Regulation of Exports and Imports) Amendment Bill 2021

(c) paragraph (b) operate as a limitation of debate under standing order 142;

(d) following consideration of the bills, a message from the House of Representatives concerning the Water Legislation Amendment (Inspector-General of Water Compliance and Other Measures) Bill 2021 be reported, and the question that the Senate not insist on its amendments be proposed from the chair and put immediately;

(e) subsequently, the routine of business be as follows:

(i) consideration of a motion to be moved by Senator Birmingham relating to formal motions—question to be put without amendment after 20 minutes,

(ii) consideration of general business notice of motion no. 1174—to be considered for not more than 30 minutes,

(iii) a motion relating to the next meeting of the Senate and leave of absence for senators, and

(iv) adjournment to be proposed; and

(f) divisions may take place after 4.30 pm for the purposes of the matters contained in this motion only.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (36% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 22 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Ben Small WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (66% turnout) 39 Yes – 11 No