The majority voted against amendments introduced by Queensland Senator Matthew Canavan (LNP), which means they failed.

Interestingly, these amendments were inconsistent with the Cabinet's views, meaning that the Nationals were breaking with the rest of the Coalition in introducing them.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, page 4 (after line 9), after item 1, insert:

1A Subsection 19(5)

Omit "at least every 10 years (or sooner if the Minister or all the Basin States request)", substitute "during 2026 and at such other times as agreed by the Murray Darling Basin Ministerial Council".

1B Subsections 50(1) to (4)

Repeal the subsections, substitute:

(1) The Authority must:

(a) review the Basin Plan during 2026, unless the Murray Darling Basin Ministerial Council agrees otherwise; and

(b) review the Basin Plan at such other times as agreed by the Murray Darling Basin Ministerial Council.

1C Paragraph 50(5)(a)

Omit "or (2)".

1D Subsection 50(6)

Omit "subsection (1)", substitute "paragraph (1)(a)".

1E Section 52

Before "If", insert "(1)".

1F Section 52

After "section 45", insert "but subject to subsection (2) of this section".

1G At the end of section 52


(2) However:

(a) the Authority must not prepare an amendment of the Basin Plan as mentioned in this section unless the Murray Darling Basin Ministerial Council agrees; and

(b) an amendment of the Basin Plan prepared as mentioned in this section must not provide for a reduction in the long term average sustainable diversion limit.

(2) Schedule 1, Part 1, page 15 (after line 29), at the end of the Part, add:

2A Division 5 of Part 2 (heading)

Omit "1,500 gigalitre", substitute "1,229 gigalitre".

2B Section 85B

Omit "1,500 gigalitre", substitute "1,229 gigalitre".

2C Section 85C (heading)

Omit "1,500 gigalitre", substitute "1,229 gigalitre".

2D Subsection 85C(1)

Omit "1,500 gigalitres", substitute "1,229 gigalitres".

2E Subsection 85C(2)

Repeal the subsection.

(3) Schedule 1, Part 1, page 15, at the end of the Part (after proposed item 2E), add:

2F Subsection 86AA(1)

Omit "(1)".

2G Subsections 86AA(2) and (3)

Repeal the subsections.

2H At the end of paragraph 86AD(2)(a)


(vii) investing in complementary measures to enhance environmental outcomes in relation to the Murray Darling Basin;

2J Paragraph 86AD(2)(b)

Repeal the paragraph.

2K Subparagraph 86AD(2)(c)(ii)

Omit "associated with a project or purchase referred to in paragraph (a) or (b) or subparagraph (c)(i)", substitute "associated with a project referred to in paragraph (a) or subparagraph (c)(i), or any previous purchase of water access rights paid for with amounts debited from the Water for the Environment Special Account,".

2L Subsection 86AD(2) (notes 1 and 2)

Repeal the notes.

2M Subsection 86AD(4)

Repeal the subsection.

2N Paragraph 86AI(2)(b)

Repeal the paragraph, substitute:

(b) achievements against those objectives and priorities;

2P Subsection 86AJ(1)

Omit all the words after "is sufficient to", substitute "achieve the object of this Part by 30 June 2024".

2Q Paragraph 86AJ(3)(b)

Repeal the paragraph.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (28% turnout) 0 Yes 7 No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (64% turnout) 7 Yes – 42 No