The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by South Australian Senator Simon Birmingham (Liberal), which means it passed. The motion related to putting time limits on the discussion of certain motions and bills.

Motion text

That today:

(a) the hours of meeting be midday till adjournment;

(b) the routine of business following consideration of the urgency motion be:

(i) business of the Senate notices of motion nos 1 and 2 (proposed disallowance of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency Amendment (2020-21 Budget Programs) Regulations 2021)—motions to be called on together and debated for not more than 30 minutes, after which the question be put, and

(ii) consideration of the following bills:

  • Fuel Security Bill 2021

  • Fuel Security (Consequential and Transitional Provisions) Bill 2021

  • Appropriation Bill (No. 1) 2021-2022

  • Appropriation Bill (No. 2) 2021-2022

  • Appropriation (Parliamentary Departments) Bill (No. 1) 2021-2022

  • Treasury Laws Amendment (2021 Measures No. 3) Bill 2021

  • Private Health Insurance Legislation Amendment (Age of Dependants) Bill 2021

  • Online Safety Bill 2021

  • Online Safety (Transitional Provisions and Consequential Amendments) Bill 2021

  • Financial Regulator Assessment Authority Bill 2021

  • Financial Regulator Assessment Authority (Consequential Amendments and Transitional Provisions) Bill 2021

  • Broadcasting Legislation Amendment (2021 Measures No.1) Bill 2021;

(c) if by 9.15 pm, consideration of the bills has not concluded, the questions on all remaining stages be put without debate;

(d) paragraph (c) operate as a limitation of debate under standing order 142;

(e) the question for the adjournment be proposed without debate after consideration of the bills has concluded, or on the motion of a minister.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (28% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (66% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Alex Antic SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (61% turnout) 34 Yes – 12 No