The majority voted in favour of amendments introduced by the Opposition, which means they will now be included in the bill when it returns to the House of Representatives, for their consideration.

Amendment text

(1) Page 169 (before line 1), before clause 221, insert:

220B Review by the ACMA

(1) If a person may apply for a review of a decision under section 220, the person may also apply to the ACMA for a review of such a decision.

Review of decisions by the ACMA

(2) The ACMA may review such a decision if the ACMA thinks that it is desirable to do so.

Action by the ACMA in relation to review

(3) If, having reviewed a decision, the ACMA is satisfied that it should take action under this section to encourage the Commissioner to affirm, vary or revoke the decision concerned, the ACMA may, by notice in writing given to the Commissioner, recommend that the Commissioner take action in relation to the review and decision as is specified in the notice.

(4) The recommended action may include affirming, varying or revoking the decision concerned, or otherwise consulting in relation to such action.

ACMA may report to Minister on results of recommendation

(5) If:

(a) the ACMA has made a recommendation to the Commissioner under subsection (3); and

(b) the Commissioner does not, within 30 days after the recommendation was given, take action that the ACMA considers to be appropriate; the ACMA may give the Minister a written report on the matter.

(6) The Minister must table a copy of the report in each House of the Parliament within 7 sitting days of that House after the day on which the Minister received the report.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (76% turnout) 30 Yes – 28 No