The majority voted in favour of an amendment introduced by South Australian Senator Anne Ruston (Liberal), which means it was successful. The amendment added the words below to the original motion, which was agreed to earlier this day.

Amendment text

That the order of the Senate agreed to earlier today relating to the consideration of legislation be varied as follows:

At the end of subparagraph (a)(v), add:

(E) Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility Amendment (Extension and Other Measures) Bill 2021;

Original motion

That today:

(a) the routine of business from 11.45 am be as follows:

(i) notices of motion;

(ii) consideration of a report from the Standing Committee for Selection of Bills;

(iii) placing of business;

(iv) formal motions; and

(v) consideration of the following bills:

(A) Migration Amendment (Clarifying International Obligations for Removal) Bill 2021 and Migration Amendment (Tabling Notice of Certain Character Decisions) Bill 2021,

(B) Education Legislation Amendment (2021 Measures No. 1) Bill 2021,

(C) Health Insurance Amendment (Prescribed Fees) Bill 2021, and

(D) Social Services and Other Legislation Amendment (Student Assistance and Other Measures) Bill 2021;

(b) if by 1.30 pm consideration of the bills has not concluded, the questions on all remaining stages be put without debate;

(c) paragraph (b) operate as a limitation of debate under standing order 142; and

(d) following consideration of the bills, the Senate return to its routine of business.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (36% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 24 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (64% turnout) 40 Yes – 9 No