The majority voted in favour of a motion to keep the bill unchanged. This motion was put after the Greens Party proposed to oppose items 24, 25, 28, 29, 31 and 32 of Schedule 1 in respect to the indexation of income free areas. Because this vote was successful, those parts of the bill will remain as they are.

What does this bill do?

According to the bills digest, the purpose of the bill is to:

  • increase the maximum basic rates of JobSeeker Payment, Youth Allowance, Youth Disability Support Pension, Parenting Payment and Austudy by $50 per fortnight from 1 April 2021
  • increase the ordinary income free area for JobSeeker Payment, Youth Allowance (Other), Parenting Payment Partnered and Widow Allowance to $150 per fortnight from 1 April 2021 and cease indexation of the JobSeeker Payment income free area
  • extend special COVID-19 qualification criteria for Youth Allowance (Other) and JobSeeker Payment until 30 June 2021—the criteria cover those in quarantine or self-isolation or caring for a family member or household member in quarantine or self-isolation due to COVID-19
  • extend until 30 June 2021 the waiver of the ordinary waiting period for JobSeeker Payment and Youth Allowance (Other)—the waiver was introduced as part of the Government’s COVID-19 response, and
  • give the Secretary of the Department of Social Services the discretionary power—until 30 June 2021—to extend the portability period for certain Age Pension and Disability Support Pension recipients unable to return to, or depart from, Australia within 26 weeks due to the impact of COVID-19—portability determines a person’s eligibility for a pension and payment rate when they live permanently outside Australia.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (32% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (66% turnout) 41 Yes – 9 No