The same number of senators voted for and against a motion, which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that the Australian Government proposes to introduce 'independent assessments' for access and planning decisions for the National Disability Insurance Scheme's (NDIS) 400,000 participants;

(b) recognises that:

(i) people with disability, their families, carers, service providers and their representative organisations were not consulted on independent assessments before they were announced by the Government,

(ii) independent assessments will provide a one-size-fits-all approach to access and planning while adding bureaucratic hoops for participants to jump through, and

(iii) neither the Productivity Commission report, nor the review conducted by David Tune AO PSM, support the introduction of independent assessments in the form proposed; and

(c) expresses its concern that, as the Government only returned $1.5 billion of the $4.6 billion it cut from the NDIS, independent assessments are just another way to take support from Australians with disability by restricting access to the scheme and limiting plan funding; and

(d) calls on the Government to:

(i) immediately pause the rollout of independent assessments,

(ii) hold a genuine, transparent consultation process, and

(iii) work with participants, families, carers and the sector to co-design the best solution to address the issues of consistency and fairness in NDIS access and planning identified by the Tune Review.

Votes Not passed

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (84% turnout) 32 Yes – 32 No