The majority voted against a motion introduced at the request of ACT Senator Katy Gallagher (Labor), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that on:

(i) 7 September 2020 Minister Hunt said 'Australians would be among the first in the world to receive a COVID-19 vaccine', and

(ii) 5 November 2020 Prime Minister Morrison assured Australians they would be 'at the front of the queue';

(b) further notes that contrary to these assurances by the Prime Minister and Minister for Health to the Australian people:

(i) more than 100 million doses of COVID-19 vaccine have already been administered across at least 60 countries, and

(ii) the Department of Health provided evidence to the Select Committee on COVID-19 that Prime Minister Morrison's public target of 4 million doses by the end of March 'seems impossible now', and

(iii) the Morrison Government only secured access to 10 million doses of the Pfizer vaccine after 34 other countries had secured 1 billion doses;

(c) calls on Prime Minister Morrison to abandon his spin and be honest and transparent with the Australian people with respect to the COVID-19 vaccination programme; and

(d) expresses its disappointment in Prime Minister Morrison's refusal to condemn Mr Craig Kelly MP's ongoing misinformation and fearmongering, including in relation to the work of the Therapeutic Goods Administration and its oversight of the COVID-19 vaccination programme.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Ben Small WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (75% turnout) 27 Yes – 30 No