The majority voted in favour of a motion to keep schedules 1 and 2 stand unchanged. In parliamentary jargon, they voted "that schedules 1 and 2 stand as printed." This vote happened after WA Senator Jordon Steele-John (Greens) introduced a motion that the schedules be opposed.

What does schedule 1 do?

According to the bills digest:

The purpose of the amendments in Schedule 1 is to streamline and enhance the provisions enabling Reserve Call Out, including where the Reserve Call Out is in response to a natural disaster or other emergency. The amendments are intended to:

a. Enhance flexibility in how called out ADF Reserve members serve by:

i. removing references to continuous full-time service (CFTS)

ii. enabling the Chief of the Defence Fore (CDF) to determine how and when they are required to serve.

b. Simplify the process for advising the Governor-General before making a Reserve Call Out order.

c. Provide for Reserve Call Out orders to be made by notifiable instrument.

d. Extend Parts 8, 9 and 10 of the Defence Reserve Service (Protection) Act 2001 to any service rendered by Reserves under a Reserve Call Out order and not just CFTS.

e. Modernise the language in Part III of the Act.

f. Amend the CDF's delegation power in relation to Reserve Call Out to reflect the other changes to the Act.

What does schedule 2 do?

According to the bills digest:

Defence Assistance to the Civil Community (DACC) is not currently authorised by statute, it is a non-statutory exercise of executive power. Schedule 2 proposes to:

  • provide Australian Defence Force (ADF) members and other Defence personnel with immunity from civil and criminal liability in certain circumstances while performing duties in relation to assistance provided in civil emergency and disaster preparedness, recovery and response

  • permit the CDF or the Secretary to extend that immunity to other persons including members of foreign military forces and foreign police forces and

  • in the context of this grant of immunity, provide the Minister with statutory power to direct use of the ADF and other Defence personnel to provide assistance in a natural disaster or other emergency.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (16% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 22 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (54% turnout) 32 Yes – 9 No