The majority voted against an amendment to the usual second reading motion, which is "that the bills be reads for a second time" (parliamentary jargon for agreeing with the main idea of the bills). This means the amendment failed.

Amendment text

At the end of the motion, add: ", but the Senate:

(a) notes:

(i) the absence of an oversight mechanism for decisions made under the Bill;

(ii) the desirability, subject to appropriate arrangements to protect national security, of requiring the Minister to provide reasons for decisions, and a process for review of a minister's decision; and

(iii) the lack of clarity in the definition of 'arrangements' in the Bill;

(iv) the Minister should make an annual report to the Parliament outlining engagement with entities covered by the Bill, if enacted, to articulate and explain Australia's foreign policy and how entities should engage with foreign entities in Australia's national interest; and

(b) calls on the Government to:

(i) address the regulatory gap of private universities;

(ii) provide clarity on the treatment of the Port of Darwin in the Bill before the Bill proceeds;

(iii) make clear how this regime will interact with the existing legislation and guidelines that work to safeguard Australia's sovereignty, including Foreign Investment Review Board processes, University Foreign Interference Taskforce Guidelines and the Foreign Influence Transparency Scheme, and provide confidence that the Bill does not present a sovereign risk that will undermine investment and cost Australian jobs;

(v) engage in genuine consultation with Australian entities covered by the Bill on the design of the regime; and

What do these bills do?

According to the bill homepage, the Australia’s Foreign Relations (State and Territory Arrangements) Bill 2020 was:

Introduced with the Australia’s Foreign Relations (State and Territory Arrangements) (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2020, the bill establishes a legislative scheme for Commonwealth engagement with arrangements between State or Territory governments and foreign governments, and their associated entities.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (84% turnout) 30 Yes – 34 No