The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Matthew Canavan (LNP), which means it passed. Motions like these don't make any legal changes on their own but are politically influential as they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) acknowledges the significant value of Australia's coal sector to Australia's regional communities and to our national economy, which benefit from more than 170,000 jobs and approximately $6 billion in royalties;

(b) notes that:

(i) Australia is the leading exporter of high-quality coal, representing almost 15% of all exports and generating more than $69 billion in 2018-19,

(ii) Australian metallurgical coal exports account for 19% of South Korea's imports of metallurgical coal contributing $3.1 billion to the Australian economy, while Australian thermal coal accounts for 34% of South Korea's imports of thermal coal, contributing $2.9 billion to the Australian economy, and

(iii) South Koreans rely on coal and nuclear energy for approximately 70% of their electricity capacity;

(c) condemns recent comments made by the Leader of the Australian Greens party and Member for Melbourne, Mr Adam Bandt MP, in his address to the National Assembly of South Korea in which he advocated against Australian coal exports and encouraged South Korea to impose carbon tariffs against Australia; and

(d) calls on the Leader of the Australian Greens party to apologise to the people of Australia for attempting to incite a foreign power to act against the interests of Australia.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (20% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (64% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (55% turnout) 33 Yes – 8 No