The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Larissa Waters (Greens), which means it succeeded. Motions like these don't make any legal changes on their own but can be politically influential beause they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) 9 September 2020 marked one year since the Senate passed the Australian Greens' National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2) to establish a strong, independent Federal corruption watchdog,

(ii) polls consistently show that the majority of Australians support the establishment of a strong national anti-corruption body,

(iii) the Government has not brought the Greens' bill on for debate in the House of Representatives, and

(iv) despite public consultation ending more than 18 months ago, the Government's exposure draft Commonwealth Integrity Commission Bill fails to address many concerns raised during consultation; and

(b) further notes that an effective anti-corruption body must include the following features:

(i) broad jurisdiction to investigate corrupt conduct within the public sector,

(ii) strong investigative powers,

(iii) the ability to hold public hearings where this is in the public interest,

(iv) the ability to commence investigations independently or based on tip-offs from the public,

(v) adequate and secure funding,

(vi) the ability to publicly report outcomes of investigations and refer potential criminal matters to the Director of Public Prosecutions,

(vii) oversight by a multi-party parliamentary committee, including the appointment of commissioners, and

(viii) investigations subject to procedural fairness, and findings open to judicial review.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (71% turnout) 28 Yes – 25 No