The majority voted in favour of a motion - with the exception of certain clauses - that was introduced by WA Senator Mathias Cormann (Liberal), which means it succeeded.

Motion text


(1) On Thursday, 8 October 2020:

(a) the routine of business from 11.45am shall be:

(i) placing of business;

(ii) notices of motion;

(iii) consideration of a report of the Selection of Bills Committee,

(iv) formal motions; and



(d) following the conclusion of consideration of the bill, the Senate shall return to the routine of business;

(e) divisions may take place after 4.30 pm until 7.30 pm;

(f) at 5.30 pm, consideration of a message relating to the Higher Education Support Amendment (Job-Ready Graduates and Supporting Regional and Remote Students) Bill 2020;

(g) the sitting of the Senate shall be suspended after consideration of the message listed in paragraph (f) till 8pm;

(h) at 8pm, Budget statements and documents – party leaders and independent senators to make a response to the statement and documents of no more than 30 minutes each; and

(i) immediately after the conclusion of the responses referred to in paragraph (h):

(i) if the Treasury Laws Amendment (A Tax Plan for the COVID-19 Economic Recovery) Bill 2020 has not yet been passed—the sitting of the Senate shall be suspended till 9 am on Friday, 9 October 2020, and the routine of business shall be as provided in paragraph (2); or

(ii) otherwise, the question for the adjournment shall be proposed. (2) The routine of business on Friday, 9 October 2020 shall be as follows:

(a) from 9 am, consideration of the Treasury Laws Amendment (A Tax Plan for the COVID-19 Economic Recovery) Bill 2020 only;

(b) if by noon the Treasury Laws Amendment (A Tax Plan for the COV1D­19 Economic Recovery) Bill 2020 has not been finally considered, the questions on all remaining stages shall be put without debate;

(c) paragraph (b) of this order shall operate as a limitation of debate under standing order 142;

(d) the Senate shall adjourn without debate after it has finally considered the bills listed above, or a motion for the adjournment is moved by a minister, whichever is the earlier.

Votes Passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (67% turnout) 0 Yes 6 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 24 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (76% turnout) 50 Yes – 8 No