A small majority voted in favour of motion No. 778, introduced by ACT Labor Party member Katy Gallagher, also the Shadow Minister for Finance. Motions like these don't make any legal changes on their own but are significant because they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) acknowledges the significant fiscal interventions in response to COVID-19, which have been supported by the entire Parliament;

(b) notes that the National Accounts confirm Australia is in a recession;

(c) further notes that:

(i) unemployment is at 7.5%, with over a million Australians out of work for the first time in history,

(ii) the Treasurer has acknowledged that the unemployment rate is expected to increase to 10% in the December quarter,

(iii) the Government announced it would reduce the rate of JobKeeper and the Coronavirus Supplement on 21 July 2020,

(iv) the Government announced that the Coronavirus Supplement will end on 31 December 2020 and JobKeeper will end on 28 March 2021, and

(v) a further 400,000 Australians are expected to lose their jobs by the end of this year; and

(d) calls on the Morrison Government to immediately outline a comprehensive jobs plan for Australian workers, including the 400,000 Australians the Treasurer has acknowledged are expected to lose their jobs by Christmas amidst the first recession in Australia in 29 years.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (50% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Centre Alliance Yes
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (52% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0.0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (57% turnout) 22 Yes – 21 No