The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Victorian Senator Bridget McKenzie (Nationals), which means it passed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that regional border communities across Australia are home to hundreds of thousands of residents;

(b) acknowledges that border travel restrictions imposed by state and territory governments have negatively impacted the lives and livelihoods of hundreds of thousands of regional Australians who live and work across border communities;

(c) expresses concern for the health and welfare of those impacted by these restrictions within our border communities, particularly where restrictions prevent travel for:

(i) medical/health purposes,

(ii) accessing education,

(iii) accessing employment, particularly in primary production, where the lack of a workforce is preventing primary producers, who feed the nation, from operating, and

(iv) compassionate grounds; and

(d) urgently calls on state and territory governments to:

(i) work together through National Cabinet to adopt a risk-based health approach based on clear definitions of COVID-19 hotspots,

(ii) agree fair and proportionate protocols for essential travel within border communities for:

(A) employment, particularly within the agricultural supply chain,

(B) education, particularly for year 12 students,

(C) health purposes, and

(D) facilitating relocations, particularly for employment,

(iii) agree and publish clear and accessible exemption regulations, which afford natural justice to applicants through an appeals process, and

(iv) adequately resource state and territory services responsible for implementing restrictions and exemptions for border communities.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (44% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Rex Patrick SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (72% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (64% turnout) 27 Yes – 22 No