The majority voted against amendments introduced by NSW Senator Jenny McAllister (Labor), which means they failed.

What is the main idea of the bill?

According to the bills digest:

The purpose of the Treasury Laws Amendment (Your Superannuation, Your Choice) Bill 2019 (the Bill) is to amend the Superannuation Guarantee (Administration) Act 1992 (SGAA) to ensure employees under new workplace determinations or enterprise agreements have an opportunity to choose the superannuation fund for their compulsory employer contributions.

Amendments text

(1) Schedule 1, page 3 (before line 5), before the heading specifying Superannuation Guarantee (Administration) Act 1992, insert:

Fair Work Act 2009

1A At the end of section 187


Requirement relating to restrictions of choice of superannuation fund

(7) If the agreement includes a restriction on the choice of superannuation fund or funds available to employees, the FWC must be satisfied that the restriction is in the interests of the employees who will be covered by the agreement.

(8) For the purposes of considering whether the restriction is in the interests of the employees, the FWC must consider:

(a) the extent to which the employers who will be covered by the agreement have complied, or are likely to comply, with the requirements of the Superannuation Guarantee (Administration) Act 1992; and

(b) the features of the proposed default superannuation fund or funds, including matters such as insurance; and

(c) any other relevant matters.

(2) Schedule 1, item 6, page 4 (lines 3 and 4), omit the item, substitute:

6 Paragraph 32C(6 )( h)

Repeal the paragraph, substitute:

(h) an enterprise agreement:

(i) made before 1 January 2021; or

(ii) if the agreement includes a restriction on the choice of superannuation funds—made on or after 1 January 2021.

(3) Schedule 1, page 4 (after line 16), at the end of the Schedule, add:

8 Subsection 32NA(2)

After "An employer is not required under section 32N to give an employee", insert "or a person who is eligible to become an employee".

9 Paragraph 32NA(2)(a)

After "the employer is making", insert "or will make".

10 Paragraph 32NA(2)(b)

After "the contributions are made", insert "or will be made".

11 Subsection 32NA(9)

After "An employer is not required under section 32N to give an employee", insert "or a person who is eligible to become an employee".

12 Paragraph 32NA(9 )( a)

After "the employee is", insert "or will become".

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (44% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance No
Rex Patrick SA Centre Alliance No
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (66% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Alex Antic SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (63% turnout) 22 Yes – 26 No