The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Larissa Waters (Greens), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) since the Sydney Morning Herald and The Agereported on 11 June 2020 that international insurance companies Liberty Mutual, HDI-Talanx and Aspen Re were underwriting work on Adani's Carmichael coal mine, Liberty Mutual and HDI-Talanx have publicly stated that they will not provide future policies to the Adani Carmichael project, and Aspen Re is 'reviewing its underwriting appetite for fossil fuels',

(ii) existing coverage extends to early work only and Adani has still not secured insurance for the complete construction and operation of the Carmichael mine,

(iii) many major companies have refused to be involved in any part of the climate-wrecking project, including:

(A) at least sixteen global insurers, and

(B) at least sixty-five major insurance, construction, engineering, finance and haulage companies, and

(iv) in the ten years since this mine was announced, the Adani group has:

(A) misrepresented the number of jobs the Carmichael mine would create,

(B) illegally released contaminated water into protected wetlands and the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage area, and

(C) been criminally convicted in relation to giving false and misleading information to the Queensland regulator in relation to unlawful clearing activities; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to:

(i) recognise that the Adani Carmichael coal mine project is unviable and withdraw its support for the project,

(ii) ban all new thermal coal mining in the Galilee Basin and plan a just transition for workers in existing coal mines, and

(iii) invest in renewable energy projects that will actually create jobs without turbo-charging the climate crisis.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (20% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (59% turnout) 9 Yes – 36 No