The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Larissa Waters (Greens), which means it failed.

ACT Senator Katy Gallagher (Labor) said that:

Labor understand the intent of this motion and support a large part of it, but I think the inclusion of paragraph (a)(iii) means that we will not be in a position to support it today.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the Government continues to exclude over 1 million casual workers from the JobKeeper payment,

(ii) the Government has announced it will axe the JobKeeper payment for childcare sector workers on 20 July 2020, and

(iii) the Government has agreed to consider Labor's call to reduce the JobKeeper payment for low income earners;

(b) further notes that the above issues negatively impact women as:

(i) women have been hit hardest by the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic,

(ii) women account for a disproportionate share of the casual workforce,

(iii) in February 2020, the full-time average weekly earnings of women was $1,508, so reducing the JobKeeper payment for low income workers will have a significant impact on women,

(iv) women's underemployment ratio now sits at an unprecedented 16 per cent, compared to 14 per cent for men; and

(v) the last census indicates that over 90 percent of childcare sector workers are women;

(c) also notes that the Government's stimulus response disproportionately benefits men, fails to support low-paid and female-dominated industries, and undervalues unpaid labour activities, which are largely performed by women; and

(d) calls on the Government to support women in work instead of continuing to prioritise measures that will see women lose hours, lose jobs and lose income.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (32% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (62% turnout) 9 Yes – 38 No