The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Paul Scarr (LNP), which means it succeeded. Motions like these don't have any legal force, but can be politically influential because they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the Queensland Palaszczuk Labor Government closed the Queensland state border on 26 March 2020 and released a "Roadmap to easing restrictions" on 8 May 2020 indicating the border would re-open on 10 July 2020,

(ii) on 18 May 2020, Premier Anastacia Palaszczuk contradicted her Government's "roadmap" by stating "I would say that things would look more positive towards September - having said that, I do not want to rule anything out";

(b) further recognises:

(i) that, as at Tuesday 9 June, there were only three active cases, and three new cases, of COVID-19 reported in the last seven days in Queensland,

(ii) comments made by the Prime Minister on 27 May 2020 that "the national medical advice that came from the expert panel that has driven all the other decisions never recommended closing [interstate] borders" and that border closures such as these "do harm the economy, they do harm jobs and it is important that we get those removed as soon as possible",

(iii) that the income lost in the Queensland economy from the border remaining closed is estimated to be in excess of $50 million each day,

(iv) that Queensland's unemployment rate remains worse than the national average and increased greater than the national average last month; and

(c) calls on the Queensland Palaszczuk Labor Government to:

(i) provide certainty and clarity to the people of Queensland on when the state border will re-open,

(ii) instil business confidence and restore lost jobs, particularly in the industries most affected by the COVID-19 pandemic and the subsequent border closure, and

(iii) return to a position on re-opening the state border that more closely reflects the view as initially outlined in the "Roadmap to easing restrictions."

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 0 Yes 7 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Centre Alliance (0.0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (72% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (72% turnout) 29 Yes – 26 No