The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Anne Urquhart (Labor), also on behalf of Tasmanian Senator Jacqui Lambie (Jacqui Lambie Network), which means it succeeded.

Motion text


(1) The Senate notes that:

(a) on 23 July 2019 the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal decided to recommend to the Minister for Defence Personnel that:

(i) the decision by the Chief of Navy to refuse to recommend the award of the Victoria Cross for Australia to Ordinary Seaman Edward Sheean in respect of his actions in HMAS Armidale during a Japanese aerial attack in the Timor Sea on 1 December 1942 be set aside, and

(ii) the Minister recommend to the Sovereign that Ordinary Seaman Edward Sheean be posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross for Australia for the most conspicuous gallantry and a pre-eminent act of valour in the presence of the enemy in HMAS Armidale during a Japanese aerial attack in the Timor Sea on 1 December 1942;

(b) the Prime Minister explained in part his rejection of the recommendations to ABC Tasmania on 26 May 2020 by saying "I have taken advice from Australia's military chiefs past and present in making this decision".

(2) There be laid on the table, by no later than noon on Wednesday 17 June 2020, by the Minister representing the Prime Minister, all copies of documents and correspondence, whether written letters or via email, referred to in the advice outlined in (1) (b) above, held by the Prime Minister or his department relating to the decision of the Prime Minister to reject the recommendation of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal decision in Barnett and the Department of Defence re: Sheean [2019] DHAAT 09 (23 July 2019).

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (76% turnout) 31 Yes – 27 No