The majority voted against a motion introduced by WA Senator Rachel Siewert, which means the motion failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) recognises the leadership shown by First Nations community-controlled health, legal and community services which responded to the COVID-19 crisis quickly and effectively;

(b) acknowledges that First Nations communities bear a disproportionate burden in this crisis in terms of:

(i) the additional health risk posed by COVID-19 to First Nations peoples,

(ii) the risk that COVID-19 policies will disproportionately, and unfairly, affect First Nations peoples who are already subjected to targeting by police, over-represented in the criminal justice system and experience higher rates of family and domestic violence; and

(iii) the impact on First Nations peoples' employment; and

(c) calls on state, territory and federal governments across Australia to implement the key asks of First Nations-led justice coalition Change the Record and work together to protect the health, safety and rights of all First Nations peoples during COVID-19 by:

(i) developing and implementing plans to release First Nations prisoners who are low-risk, have chronic health conditions, are on remand, are elderly, children or are for whatever reason at increased risk of COVID-19,

(ii) protecting the human rights of First Nations peoples in prison by ensuring access to oversight and monitoring agencies, family, legal services, mental health care, education and programs,

(iii) connecting First Nations peoples who experience family violence during COVID-19 with culturally appropriate services such as the Family Violence Prevention Legal Service,

(iv) increasing support and access to safe accommodation for First Nations families fleeing family violence to stop removals of First Nations children and ensure principles of First Nations family-led decision making are applied where-ever possible,

(v) resisting punitive policy responses to COVID-19 and the over-policing of already targeted communities, and require transparency and oversight in policing,

(vi) ensuring that First Nations peoples, including those with disability, are given equal access to high quality and culturally-appropriate health care during COVID-19, and

(vii) committing to rebuilding our justice and child protection system after COVID-19 to focus on investing in families and community, not prisons, to increase community safety and prevent child removals and further black deaths in custody.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (78% turnout) 29 Yes – 30 No