The same number of senators voted for and against the motion introduced by NSW Senator Tony Sheldon (Labor), which means it failed because it didn't achieve a majority.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) in 2018, the Government approved the sale of Qantas' catering business to Dnata, an in-flight catering company which is part of the Emirates group, owned by the Government of Dubai,

(ii) Dnata employs 6000 workers every year at nine Australian airports, most of whom previously worked for Qantas' catering business,

(iii) workers at Dnata are Australians who have worked in the Australian aviation industry their whole working lives,

(iv) since the grounding of flights due to the COVID-19 pandemic most workers at Dnata have been asked to work as a skeleton crew,

(v) when Prime Minister Morrison, and Treasurer Frydenberg announced JobKeeper, the Treasurer said: "Australians know that their government has their back",

(vi) on May 1, 2020 the Government, without consulting businesses or workers, changed the rules of the JobKeeper program to exclude companies including Dnata,

(vii) on May 4, 2020, 5500 Australian workers at Dnata were told they were no longer eligible for JobKeeper payments due to the changes made by the Federal Government, and

(viii) every cent of the Job Keeper payment goes to the workers who need it – the money would not go to the foreign-owned company;

(b) recognises that workers at Dnata do not choose who owns the company they work for; and

(c) calls on the Government to:

(i) honour its commitment to Australian workers and demonstrate that it "has their back", no matter who owns their company; and

(ii) reverse the rule that excludes the 5500 workers at Dnata from JobKeeper payments.

Votes Not passed

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (69% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (74% turnout) 28 Yes – 28 No