The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by NSW Senator Tim Ayres (Labor) and ACT Senator Katy Gallagher (Labor). It criticised the Morrison Government in terms of its adherence to ministerial standards. While motions like these don't make any legal changes on their own, they are politically influential because they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes the Morrison Government's consistent failure in 2019 and 2020 to uphold its own Statement of Ministerial Standards or to be an open, transparent and accountable government in line with the expectations of the Australian community on matters, including:

(i) Prime Minister Morrison's failure to act for over a fortnight on the Auditor-General's scathing report into the Community Sports Infrastructure program, overseen by former Minister McKenzie,

(ii) Prime Minister Morrison's failure to release his former political chief of staffs advice on Minister McKenzie's breach of the Ministerial Standards,

(iii) the cloud hanging over former Minister Canavan following his failure to declare a potential conflict of interest in his portfolio,

(iv) Prime Minister Morrison's failure to explain the ongoing criminal investigation by New South Wales Police, encompassing the use of the fraudulent document by Minister Taylor, referred to the Australian Federal Police in December 2019,

(v) Prime Minister Morrison's inappropriate contact with the New South Wales Police Commissioner regarding a criminal investigation into a member of his Cabinet, the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction, Mr Taylor,

(vi) Prime Minister Morrison's refusal to confirm whether he invited the head of the Hillsong Church, Pastor Brian Houston, to a state dinner in Washington DC,

(vii) Prime Minister Morrison's refusal to uphold his own ministerial standards for former Ministers Pyne and Bishop,

(viii) Prime Minister Morrison's refusal to require Ms Gladys Liu, MP, to make a full and frank statement to the Parliament,

(ix) Minister Taylor's and Minister Frydenberg's involvement in the 'grasslands' affair,

(x) Minister Taylor's use of falsified information in correspondence to the Lord Mayor of Sydney,

(xi) Minister Porter's appointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal,

(xii) Minister Hunt's awarding of MRI licences in South Australia, and

(xiii) Minister Dutton's awarding of the $423 million Paladin contract; and

*(b) expresses its disappointment in the Morrison Government's ongoing disregard for its Statement of Ministerial Standards, the conventions of our parliamentary system of government, and the expectations of the Australian community for integrity and accountability in government. *

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (84% turnout) 34 Yes – 30 No