The same number of senators voted for and against an amendment introduced by South Australian Senator Stirling Griff (Centre Alliance), which means it failed.

Amendment text

(1) Page 82 (after line 21), after Schedule 3, insert:

Schedule 3A—Transparency of approved providers

Aged Care Act 1997

1 After section 9-2


9-2A Obligation to provide Commissioner a report

(1) As soon as practicable within 3 months after the end of a financial year, an approved provider must provide the *Quality and Safety Commissioner with a written report for each facility operated by the provider that provided residential care in the financial year.

(2) The report must include the following information:

(a) the total income received by the provider from the facility;

(b) the sources of that income;

(c) the total amount spent in the financial year;

(d) the total cost of care expenditure which includes the itemised cost of the following:

(i) food and food supplements;

(ii) medical products;

(iii) continence aids;

(e) the total cost of accommodation;

(f) the total cost of staff members for each category of staff member referred to in subsection (3);

(g) the total cost of staff member training;

(h) the total amount of other operational expenditure itemised by category;

(i) any amount paid to a related body corporate within the meaning of section 50 of the Corporations Act 2011.

Note: Approved providers have a responsibility under Part 4.3 to comply with this obligation. Failure to comply with a responsibility can result in a sanction being imposed under Part 7A of the *Quality and Safety Commission Act. The expenditure report provided under this section is made publicly available (see section 96-11).

(3) For the purposes of paragraph (2) (f), the categories of staff member are the following:

(a) registered nurses;

(b) enrolled nurses;

(c) personal care attendants;

(d) allied health staff;

(e) administrative staff;

(f) other staff members.

Note: The category of other staff members should be further broken down into appropriate categories.

(4) In this section:

staff member of an approved provider has the same meaning as in section 63-1AA.

2 After section 96-10


96-11 Publication of reports by Commissioner

The Quality and Safety Commissioner must make publicly available the report provided to the Commissioner under section 9-2A.

Votes Not passed

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (89% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (89% turnout) 34 Yes – 34 No