The majority voted in favour of keeping item 9 of schedule 2, and schedules 3 and 4, as amended, unchanged. The question was put after the Jacqui Lambie Network moved for those schedules to be opposed.

What do these schedules do?

According to the bills digest:

  • Item 9 of Schedule 1 amends the bill so that a person who has been convicted of a prescribed offence as defined in section 212 is not eligible to be a candidate for election to, or to hold an office in, an organisation under subsection 215(1).
  • Schedule 3 deals with the administration of dysfunctional registered organisations and
  • Schedule 4 proposes a public interest test for amalgamations of registered organisations.

What is the bill's main idea?

The bill was introduced in order to:

  • include serious criminal offences punishable by five or more years’ imprisonment as a new category of ‘prescribed offence’ for the purposes of the automatic disqualification regime which prohibits a person from acting as an official of a registered organisation
  • allow the Federal Court to disqualify officials from holding office where they have: > * contravened a range of industrial laws > * are found in contempt of court in relation to industrial laws or certain other circumstances > * repeatedly fail to stop their organisation from breaking the law or > * are otherwise not a fit and proper person to hold office in a registered organisation
  • make it an offence for a person to continue to act as an official or in a way that influences the affairs of an organisation once disqualified
  • allow the Federal Court to deregister an organisation (or make alternative orders) where there is: > * unlawful or otherwise improper conduct of the affairs of the organisation > * serious criminal offences committed by the organisation > * repeated breaches of a range of industrial laws by its members or > * the taking of obstructive unprotected industrial action by a substantial number of members
  • allow applications to be made to the Federal Court for alternative orders, including suspending the rights and privileges of an organisation, an individual or a branch or division of an organisation, instead of making an order deregistering an organisation.
  • expand the grounds on which the Federal Court may order remedial action to deal with governance issues in an organisation and expressly provide that the Federal Court may appoint an administrator to an organisation or part of an organisation as part of a remedial scheme and
  • introduce a public interest test for amalgamations of registered organisations, which will allow relevant matters to be taken into account, such as each organisation’s record of compliance with industrial laws.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (89% turnout) 25 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
David Van Victoria Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (89% turnout) 36 Yes – 32 No