The majority voted against a motion introduced by WA Senator Jordon Steele-John (Greens), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that, in October 2019, the Conservation Council of Western Australia released its 'Clean State' report, which found that:

(i) LNG production in Western Australia (WA) is the fastest-growing pollution source in Australia, and has been the primary driver of recent national emissions growth,

(ii) the rapid expansion in LNG production in WA, in combination with inadequate carbon pollution controls, has had a dramatic impact on the State's total emissions—while all other States' emissions are falling, WA's have risen by 23% since 2005,

(iii) Chevron and Woodside are responsible for most of this pollution and there are no effective controls on their operations,

(iv) over the next 12 years, the total cumulative emissions from WA's five current LNG facilities (384Mt) will cancel out the entire amount of abatement expected to be delivered under the Emissions Reduction Fund (ERF) (375Mt), at a total cost of $4.55 billion the ERF is effectively an Australian taxpayer-funded offset program for Chevron and Woodside's operations to 2031,

(v) offsetting LNG pollution in WA would create 4000 jobs, and

(vi) there is no such thing as clean gas; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to:

(i) acknowledge the 'clean gas myth', and

(ii) commit to moving away from extracting and exporting LNG.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (48% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (67% turnout) 8 Yes – 43 No