The majority voted in favour of a motion relating to the Paladin contracts. It was introduced by Tasmanian Senator Anne Urquhart (Labor).

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the Federal Government signed a contract with the company Paladin that originally cost the Australian taxpayer $423 million,

(ii) Paladin was granted the contract – worth $20 million a month – without a competitive tender,

(iii) when the Federal Government first signed the contract with Paladin, the company was based out of a beach shack on Kangaroo Island,

(iv) this contract has been subject to an audit by Ernst & Young, and is currently the subject of an audit by the Auditor-General,

(v) the Federal Government extended this contract in June for a further 6 months – increasing the total cost of the contract to the Australian taxpayer to over half a billion dollars, and

(vi) this extension was granted despite:

(A) Paladin's managing director being removed from his duties after the firm failed to comply with a direction from the Department of Home Affairs,

(B) the contract being labelled 'high risk' by Ernst & Young, and

(C) Paladin being fined more than 3700 times in a 12 month period for failing to meet minimum service standards; and

(b) condemns the Federal Government for their incompetence in handling the Paladin contacts, and their contempt for the Australian taxpayer.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (82% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (78% turnout) 31 Yes – 28 No