The majority voted in favour of amendments introduced by South Australian Rex Patrick (Centre Alliance), which means they passed.

In explaining the Labor Party's support for the two amendments, numbered (5) and (7), NSW Senator Jenny McAllister (Labor) explained that:

As I indicated, Labor will support these amendments. In relation to amendment (5), we support the provision of additional information to taxpayers as outlined in that amendment. In relation to amendment (7), we do support consultation with the Inspector-General of Taxation on all legislative instruments under this bill. We understand that this is something that occurs already, but we think it is important that it is placed in the primary legislation.

Amendments text

(5) Schedule 5, item 2, page 16 (after line 16), after paragraph 355-72(3)(b) in Schedule 1, insert:

(ba) explain:

(i) why the primary entity is included in a class of entities declared under subsection (5); and

(ii) the steps (if any) the primary entity may take to no longer be included in that class before the disclosure occurs; and

(7) Schedule 5, item 2, page 17 (after line 16), after subsection 355-72(5) in Schedule 1, insert:

(5A) Before making an instrument under subsection (5), the Minister must:

(a) consult the Inspector-General of Taxation; and

(b) consider any submissions made by the Inspector-General of Taxation because of that consultation.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (80% turnout) 33 Yes – 28 No