The majority voted against a motion introduced by South Australian Senator Rex Patrick (Centre Alliance), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) acknowledges that:

(i) most citizens pay little attention to matters relating to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) until they are confronted with an administrative decision they feel is incorrect,

(ii) the AAT permits citizens to address wrongs in administrative decision-making through a process which is fair, just, economical, informal and quick, and

(iii) citizens must hold trust and confidence in the decision-making of the AAT; and

(b) notes that:

(i) most appointments to the AAT are Federal Court judges or experienced legal practitioners, however paragraph 7(3)(b) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 provides for appointment of senior members and members that, in the opinion of the Governor-General, have special knowledge or skills relevant to the duties of a senior member or member,

(ii) there have been forceful allegations made in the media that a number of appointments made under this provision have been political, for example the appointment of former politicians and political staffers, which undermines public trust and confidence in the AAT, and

(iii) the Honourable Mr Ian Callinan AC QC, former High Court judge, conducted a review into the AAT and stated the repeal of paragraph 7(3)(b) of the Act is desirable; and

(c) calls on the Federal Government to urgently introduce a bill into the Parliament to repeal paragraph 7(3)(b) of the Act.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (82% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (76% turnout) 12 Yes – 46 No