The majority voted against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Peter Whish-Wilson (Greens), which means it failed.

Motion text

(1) That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) on 23 February 2016, the then Treasurer, the Honourable Scott Morrison MP, announced his decision to approve the acquisition of the land and assets of the Tasmanian Land Company (TLC), including the Van Diemen's Land (VDL) Company, by Moon Lake Investments,

(ii) in announcing the approval, the then Treasurer noted the commitment by Moon Lake to create an additional 95 jobs and to invest an additional $100 million into VDL farms, including for ecological restoration; and that, given these considerations, inter alia, he was satisfied that Moon Lake's acquisition of TLC was not contrary to the national interest,

(iii) in June 2019, the media reported extracts of a letter written by senior managers at VDL to Moon Lake seeking indemnity from any animal welfare or workplace health and safety loss or damage, and citing inadequate repairs and maintenance as the reason for this request, and

(iv) Moon Lake has reportedly invested less than $20 million of the promised additional $100 million into VDL farms; and

(b) calls upon the Treasurer to impose a new condition on Moon Lake, under section 74 of the Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Act 1975, compelling the company to:

(i) make public the details on how it intends to invest the outstanding amount of the promised $100 million into VDL farms by 31 August 2019, and

(ii) invest the outstanding amount of the promised $100 million into VDL farms by 31 July 2021.

(2) That a message be sent to the House of Representatives seeking its concurrence in this resolution.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (56% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (67% turnout) 12 Yes – 39 No