The majority voted against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Peter Whish-Wilson (Greens), which means it failed.

Senator Whish-Wilson explained his amendment:

The Greens amendment strips the tax cuts from this bill. It increases the size of the low-income tax offset, the LITO, from the current $445 level, beyond the $700 level proposed by the government, to $1,080. The amendment also brings about this increase to the LITO immediately, rather than in 2022, as proposed by the government. The net result is that people earning anything up to $37,000 per annum would immediately and permanently be $115 better off under the Greens amendment. People earning a wage of anything up to $67,000, which is very close to the current cap for the LITO, would also receive an immediate and permanent increased tax offset under our amendment. The benefit of the Greens proposal, as opposed to this government's tax cuts, is that it puts more money into the pockets of those wage earners who would most benefit and who most need it. It wouldn't be providing nearly half the value of the entire package to the wealthiest Australians.

Motion text

(1) Schedule 1, page 3 (line 1) to page 4 (line 5), omit the Schedule, substitute:

Schedule 1—Low Income tax offset

Income Tax Assessment Act 1936

1 Subsection 159N(2)

Omit "$445, reduced by 1 cents", substitute "$1080, reduced by 3 cents".

Income Tax Assessment Act 1997

2 Subsection 61 -115(1) (table)

Repeal the table, substitute:

3 Application

The amendment of section 159N of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 as made by this Schedule applies in relation to assessments for the 2018-19, 2019-20, 2020-21 or 2021-22 income year.

[low income tax offset]

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (89% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (87% turnout) 9 Yes – 57 No