The majority voted against a motion introduced by SA Senator Tim Storer (Independent), which means it failed. Senator Storer explained that:

Public confidence in our federal politics is at an all-time low. With scandal after scandal involving corruption, misuse of public funds, political donations, unregulated lobbyists and attacks on whistleblowers, it's no wonder people are fed up. My parliamentary transparency charter aims to improve the integrity of, and public confidence in, our national government. It represents common sense, achievable and deeply needed reform.

Motion text

Parliamentary Transparency Charter


Transparency is essential for a well-functioning democracy. The (House of Representatives and the) Senate commit to pursuing the following transparency reforms to improve the integrity of, and public confidence in, our national government.


National Integrity Commission

Establish an independent National Integrity Commission to oversee the activities of public officials and empowered to conduct public hearings and make public findings of fact.

Real-time disclosure of political donations above $1,000

Amend political donation laws to require disclosure of donations above $1,000 by recipients in as close to 'real-time' as practical.

Enhanced freedom of information arrangements

Boost funding to the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner and FOI units within departments and agencies and improve FOI review processing times.

Enhanced whistleblower protections

Further consolidate the whistleblower protection regime and enhance existing whistleblower protections.

Overhaul lobbyist rules

Legislate lobbying code of conduct and require lobbyists to disclose who they meet with and the subject matter of their meeting on a monthly basis. Expand lobbyist register to include in-house lobbyists.

Conduct standards for parliamentarians

Develop a Statement of Parliamentarian Standards, modelled on the Statement of Ministerial Standards, applicable to all parliamentarians.

Parliamentary Integrity Commissioner

Establish an independent Parliamentary Integrity Commissioner, empowered to enforce standards of parliamentary conduct, oversee interest disclosure requirements and deal with allegations of misuse of public funds, blatant falsehoods in political advertising, and breaches of lobbyist rules.

(2) That this resolution be communicated to the House of Representatives for concurrence.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
David Smith ACT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Absent
Duncan Spender NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Lucy Gichuhi SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (75% turnout) 13 Yes – 44 No