The majority voted in favour of amendment (1) on sheet 8642, which was introduced by NSW Senate Jenny McAllister (ALP).

What does this amendment do?

Senator McAllister said that the amendment related to the definitions of 'systemic weakness' and 'systemic vulnerability' and explained that:

... stakeholders were concerned that the protection in the bill which prohibits an agency from forcing a provider to implement any kind of systemic weakness or systemic vulnerability is inadequate because those terms are not defined.

The government sought to address that in their amendments to their own bill in December last year, but the government's amendments have been condemned as difficult to understand, ambiguous and significantly too narrow. ...

The amendments before us now would repeal the systemic weakness definitions that were introduced by the government and give clear legislative effect to the advice provided publicly by the Director-General of ASIO. Our amendments are supported by the main industry groups ...

The critical paragraph on sheet 8642 is to amend 317ZG(4) to include this phrase:

(4) The reference in paragraph (1)(a) to implement or build a systemic weakness, or a systemic vulnerability, includes a reference to any act or thing that would or may create a material risk that otherwise secure information would or may in the future be collected, accessed, used, manipulated, disclosed or otherwise compromised by an unauthorised third party.

These changes seek to protect the information of innocent people ...

What does this bill do?

The bill was introduced to:

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (91% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Lucy Gichuhi SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party No
Totals (87% turnout) 37 Yes – 28 No